It was a calm autumn day a few years ago, and we were parked up with our motorhome near a reasonably deserted beach on the East Coast of New Zealand.  Another terminology for where we were parked up is out in the wop wops!

I decided to head on down to the beach with my camera, as you do, to see if an opportunity would arise to capture that particular moment.  Well, the moment I experienced was very iconically New Zealand, kiwi, or the Maori word for NZ is Aotearoa, the land of the long white cloud.

It’s GOING horse riding BAREBACK.

My mother was a brilliant horsewoman, my sister was better than I, actually, the only time I wanted to get on a horse if it was on its last legs so to speak.  I apparently did not inherit the natural ability to ride.  Though they are beautiful creatures to watch, and this day was no exception.

Without further ado, here is what I had fun taking photographs of while sitting on the sand dunes back on the East Coast of the North Island, New Zealand.

Boy on horse - bareback (1 of 1)

 

Boy on Horse

Horse riding in the surf (1 of 1)

How beautiful

